Get To Know Me

Get To Know Me

Hi! For you to be reading this, it means you're in my Hashnode blog intending to know me. Thank you for that.

Let Me Introduce Myself

My name is Prayer Bright-Okocha, a UI UX designer based in Nigeria. I derive joy in solving real-world problems through my designs. I enjoy explaining design concepts and techniques to others. I love creating interactive components and responsive designs. My main spoken language is ENGLISH.

I love to design, research, write and illustrate.

I write technical articles to help others better understand design concepts, techniques, or principles.

Professionally I am a product designer to help companies and individuals create the next generation solution with my user-centric designs.

When I'm not designing or discovering new concepts, techniques, or styles, you'd find me reading a design book, creating article content, browsing through the web for inspiration, or pestering my friend.

Technologies and Skills

Before Tech Career

Before I decided or knew what having a tech career was about, I was just a regular girl with a crochet and knitting life.

Yes, I made crocheted wears and pieces for adults and children and was pretty good at it. I didn't mind spending my whole day crocheting or spending all of my money purchasing yarns. I enjoyed every bit of it from coming up with a design and making it to seeing a design and recreating it.

Along the line, I knew I had to stop, not because I found tech or it was getting boring but rather because it wasn't yielding the way I wanted it to when it comes to it being monetized. So currently I still crochet but for personal use and on special demands.

Getting Into Tech

I got into tech in 2021 during my final year at the university. I was strongly influenced by the fact that my friends around me were into it. Tho I had no idea what I was going into I still decided to try it.

I started carrying out my research on tech as a career and the fields involved in it to get the hang of what I was going into.

When I decided to focus on ui ux I started reading about it directly and replicating designs. It wasn't all that easy because I was at that time battling with final year and project work which made me reduce the time I had initially dedicated to this new career of mine so I could wrap up with school.

My skills

In the course of my career I have learned and developed skills needed to be a better designer and to help me with my relationship with users and clients, these skills include but are not limited to research, user research, user-centered, critical thinking, empathy, communication, information architecture, wire-framing, collaboration, prototyping, design thinking, writing, creativity, visual communication, continuous learning, problem-solving and many others.

In My Spare Time

In my spare time that if I have any. I'm either preparing for a new design case study, conducting research, thinking of a new project, or writing an article. So I hardly have any spare time.

If for any reason I had spare time then I created it to be able to rest.

Accomplishments

I haven't gotten enough of my expectations but I'm still grateful to God for the ones I have. So far in my career and learning as a Product (UI/UX) Designer, I have received:

  • Side hustle and Jobberman certification in Product Design.

  • Treford certification on Product Design.

  • Coursera Certification on Google UX Design.

  • Udemy Certification on Complete Web & Mobile Designer in 2022: UI/UX, Figma, +more.

  • Udemy Certification on Master Digital Product Design: UX Research & UI Design.

  • Udemy Certification on Complete Figma Web Design Course: UI/UX Design with Projects.

  • Udemy Certification on Complete Figma Megacourse: UI/UX Design Beginner to Expert.

  • Became a member of She Code Africa.

  • I started writing articles as a way of giving back to the community.

So yes this is me and by the Grace of God, more accomplishments and achievements will be made as time goes on in the course of my journey in tech as a Product Designer.

To check out my work click on the link below

Portfolio

Let's Connect

LinkedIn Behance Instagram

Do well to like, leave a comment, and follow. Thank you.